you're reading...
Uncategorized

Day To Day_Day Four

Just outside church.

Let me tell you something about what was running in my head when I took this picture. I figured it should run into the minds of  those who will see  this picture, too. As you can see, technically, everything is wrong with the picture. That’s because I did not have the guts to take a proper picture. I dragged the friend who was with me quickly after a three-second focus and a nippy click. But that’s not the reason why it’s REALLY wrong.

The photo is very obvious: a beggar looking kyphotic. When I looked back after this shot, I could see that he was hungry. He was just sitting there looking at the ground, his hands in a praying stance, sometimes extending them if he hears footsteps.

Now the background, if you haven’t noticed it yet, is what’s even more wrong. What does the church say about the needy, the poor, those who lack means to help themselves to be comfortable? In Deuteronomy 15:4,  it says, “There should be no poor among you, for in the land the Lord your God is giving you to possess as your inheritance, he will richly bless you.” In Matthew 5:42, “…do not turn away from the one who wants to borrow from you.”

I may have mentioned the wrong quotations here. But I think you already get what I want to tell. When will the ones outside, those who preach about helping, go outside and really see? If people say God will help those who help themselves, then let it be. But sometimes, the question is not Who, it’s Who can. I dare you to prove my questions are senseless.

About planetapilipinas

travel writer/mag journalist, a dreamer, NatGeo superfan, Global UGrader and a freak. @LOLWAITWHAAAT on Twitter

Discussion

One thought on “Day To Day_Day Four

  1. Weakness ko makakakita ng mga ganito. I don’t give them money, pero lahat ng pagkaing dala ko ibibigay ko agad sa mga ganyan. Hay :/
    You / Someone should have gave him something to eat, Rey kahit biscuit lang.

    Posted by Jehd | July 24, 2012, 4:21 pm

Leave a comment

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 464 other subscribers