you're reading...
Uncategorized

Media and Society Blog Assignment Day 4

March 30, Saturday

After attending the Holi Festival with a bunch of friends, I am greeted by teaser photos of the Daragang Magayon Festival in one of the towns in my home province when I logged in on Facebook. The photos were of George Tapan, National Geographic photo contest winner in 2011.

While eating dinner at 8:15, a friend chatted me on Facebook and asked whether I had plans for the night. When I told him I am only planning to watch documentaries online, he said he is going to the movies with two others. He said they still haven’t decided what to watch. The last time I was on a theater for a movie was a day before I flew from Manila. It was a Filipino historical film titled El Presidente. I was at a 4-D theater at the Newseum in Washington, D.C. during spring break, but that doesn’t count since it was only for a mini-documentary on journalism. At 8:47p.m., we were on our way to Malco Theaters. Two of us have already seen Oz: The Great and Powerful, so we decided to watch The Host instead. The only thing that made the movie interesting was that Saoirse Ronan was playing the lead role, other than that, the movie was kind of worthless.

After the movie, I got a severe thunderstorm warning from the AccuWeather app in my phone. Whether it happened or not, I slept throughout the supposedly severe thunderstorm.

  1. Internet (Facebook fanpages)
  2. Movie (The Host at Malco Theaters)
  3. Weather app on phone
This is a Media and Society assignment on our media "contacts." Day 4 of 5.

About planetapilipinas

travel writer/mag journalist, a dreamer, NatGeo superfan, Global UGrader and a freak. @LOLWAITWHAAAT on Twitter

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a comment

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 464 other subscribers