â–“
you're reading...
Uncategorized

Media and Society Blog Assignment Day 2

March 28, Thursday

Untitled 01At 12:08a.m., I checked my AccuWeather app on my phone and learned that the weather on the following days would be okay (at least for me). I did not mind the Quaker advertisement at the bottom of the weather forecast and wondered how many AccuWeather app users actually click those advertisements. Fancy as they are, I think that the adverts in the app are never congruent to the weather.

When I woke up at 10a.m., though never really planning to eat at the dining hall, I went to Brough Commons just to get a copy of The New York times.

Some time in the afternoon, and friend and I walked to the Dickson Street Bookshop. I had nothing else to read in my room so I decided to buy old copies of National Geographic. I collect National Geographic magazines so that was the first thing that came to mind when I thought I needed new reading materials. At the bookshop, I found a copy of a 1987 special National Geographic hardbound: 100 Years of Adventure and Discovery. The book had a lot of photos that I haven’t seen before.

At ten in the evening, I browsed through the CNN and Philippine Star websites and shared some of the news I read on Facebook.

Untitled 02

 

Untitled 03

  1. Internet (AccuWeather adverts)
  2. Newspaper (The New York Times articles and adverts)
  3. Books/Magazine (National Geographic)
  4. Internet (CNN.com)
  5. Internet (PhilStar.com)
This is a Media and Society assignment on our media "contacts." Day 2 of 5.

About planetapilipinas

travel writer/mag journalist, a dreamer, NatGeo superfan, Global UGrader and a freak. @LOLWAITWHAAAT on Twitter

Discussion

One thought on “Media and Society Blog Assignment Day 2

  1. Good day! I could have sworn I’ve visited your blog before but after browsing through many of the articles I realized it’s new to me.
    Anyhow, I’m certainly happy I came across it and I’ll
    be bookmarking it and checking back regularly!

    Posted by Janie | August 1, 2013, 10:08 pm

Leave a comment

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 464 other subscribers